Distinguished Life Service Award

2018 Awardee

This year's awardee will be recognized during the Master Brewers Closing Session at Brewing Summit 2018.​

Graham Stewart has been Emeritus Professor in Brewing and Distilling in Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland since he retired in 2007.  From 1994-2007 he was Professor of Brewing and Distilling and Director of the International Centre for Brewing and Distilling, Heriot Watt University.  For 25 years prior to this he was employed by the Labatt Brewing Company based in London, Ontario.  During these 25 years he held a number of scientific and technical positions and from1986-1994 he was Labatt’s Technical Director.  He was President of the Institute of Brewing and Distilling in 1999 and 2000.  He has over 300 publications (books, patents, review papers, articles and peer review papers) to his name.  He holds PhD and DSc degrees from Bath University and a DSc. Honorary from Heriot Watt University.



The Distinguished Life Service Award recognizes members of the Master Brewers who have provided sustained and exceptional lifetime commitment and service to the association. The award is not automatically given each year, only in the years when there is an exceptional member who fits the criteria.
Awardee will receive an engraved plaque and be recognized during the award ceremony at the Master Brewers Conference. 

Past Recipients

​2017 ​Mike Sutton
​2012 ​Jerrold Hilton
​2011 ​Ray Klimovitz
​2003 ​Karl Strauss