​Award of Merit​​


The Award of Merit may be given annually to an individual (or individuals if they have worked as a team) who, in the opinion of the Executive Committee, has made an outstanding contribution to the brewing industry. Membership in Master Brewers is not required. Nominations may be made by any Master Brewers member and are reviewed by the Nominations Committee and approved by the Executive Committee.

Recipients receive the following:

  • ​$500 ​honorarium

  • Recognized during the award ceremony at the Master Brewers Conference. 

Call for Nominations​

Nominations for the 2024 award are accepted through March 28, 2024

Award Recipients

​Daniel Carey
​Carol Stoudt​​
​T​om Shellhammer
2017 ​Alex Speers
2015​ ​Mustafa Rehmanji
2013 ​Gary Luther
2011 ​Karl Seibert
2010 ​Graham Stewart
2009 ​Bill Ladish
2007 ​Frank Kirner
2005 ​Finn Knudsen
2003 ​Nick Huige
2001 ​Inge Russell
1999 ​William Coors
1998 ​Klaus Zastrow
1997 ​Takashi Inoue
1996 ​Egbert Pfisterer
​1995 ​Walter Swistowicz
1994 ​Joseph Owades
​1993 ​Fritz Maytag
​1992 ​Ludwig Narziss
1991 ​John Ladish
1990 ​Morten Meilgaard
1989 ​Charles Lieberman
1987 ​Robert Halcrow
1985 ​Michael Lewis
​1983 ​Mirsolav Dadic​
​1982 ​Arnulfo Canales
1981 ​Karl Strauss
​1980 ​Moritmer Brenner