​District Texas - The Tom Reap Award

The Tom Reap Award was created in 1991, by District Texas, to honor the distinct member who most embodied the qualities valued in one of the district’s most respected and well-liked members, the late Tom Reap. Tom, who had been a brewer for over forty years, was the Brewmaster at Anheuser/Busch in Houston at the time of his retirement. Tom served as the national president of the Master Brewers Assoc. of the Americas in 1986. His dedication to the industry and to the association will be long remembered.



M - Mental Ability B - Brewing Knowledge
A - Assertiveness R - Resourcefulness
S - Sense of Humor E - Enthusiasm
T - Timing W - Wisdom
E - Excellence E - Entertaining
R - Responsibility R - Raconteur

The following members of District Texas have been awarded the Tom Reap Master Brewer Award:

1991 – John Popson
1992 – Rick Barney
1993 – Bill von Minden
1994 – John Hybner
1995 – Ed Mueller
1996 – Mary Thompson
1997 – Paul Langenbeck
1998 – Bill Porter
1999 – Michele Amsterdam
2000 – Ken Schmidt
2007 – Dan Stone

Brewing Resources

Ask the Brewmasters Technical Quarterly MBAA Webinars MBAA Podcasts Food Safety Brewery Safety Vendor Search