Inge Russell Best Paper Award

​The Inge Russell Best Paper Award is presented to member(s) who have authored the year's best paper in the Technical Quarterly. The award was created to honor Dr. Russell, a former editorial board chair, who over the years gave invaluable technical assistance to Technical Quarterly and Master Brewers.

2015 Recipient

Graham Stewart has been a professor emeritus in brewing and distilling at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland, since he retired in 2007. In the years 1994–2007 he was professor of brewing and distilling and director of the International Centre for Brewing and Distilling, Heriot-Watt University. For 25 years prior to this, he was employed by the Labatt Brewing Company in Canada, holding a number of scientific and technical positions, including as technical director 1986–1994. He was president of the Institute of Brewing and Distilling in 1999 and 2000. He has over 300 publications (books, patents, review papers, articles, and peer reviewed papers) to his name.
Yeast Mitochondria – Their Influence on Brewer’s Yeast Fermentation and Medical Research 

Past Recipients

Year​ ​Authors
​2013 Acacia Cooper, Steven Petrovic, Larry Chase
​2010 ​Benjamin Bailey, Christina Schonberger, Georg Drexler, Andreas Gahr, Rebecca Newman, Mortiz Poschl, Eberhard Geiger
​2009 ​David Kapral
​2008 ​Elke Arendt, Almudena Soriano, Beatus Schehl
​2007 ​Inge Russell