District Meeting Minutes

Oct. 20th , 2016

Bell's Brewing Company, Kalamazoo, MI

<u>President</u>: Paul Popa called the meeting to order at 10:10 AM. He asked for the minutes from the last meeting to be approved. Chas Thompson motioned for the minutes to be approved and minutes were approved.

<u>Treasure Report</u>: Paul Popa read the finical report (Ken Belau came after the treasurer report) We have a good amount of money in the bank and our finances are looking good. Money for scholarships and speakers available.

He then read off our account balances:

Chase Checking = \$20,683.87

Chase Saving=\$12,738.36

Paypal=\$2003.09

Cash=\$110

Vice President: Debbie Smith

Summer Social is July 8th at Grand Ledge.

This year's event was well attended and went well.

This year's three winners were:

Brain Roesters-1st drawing winner attending Brewing and Malting course Greg Burke-2nd drawing winner attending Brewing and Malting course in 2017 Karl Glarner-3rd drawing winner gets expenses for MBAA National meeting

BOG Report: John Mallet

Check your emails coming from the MBAA, full of great information. The MBAA is more education focused than ever, hosting videos and webinars with great topics such as Barrel Aging and Sour beer production. Also a new logo for a new look for the MBAA to be announced soon.

Today we have the MBAA National President Roy Johnson in attendance.

MBAA National update: Roy Johnson

This is his first meeting as National president and he is happy to have it at District Michigan with such a strong district. He has 33 years and brewing, started with Miller and is now working with HAAS hops. He

announced Susan Welch is the new national Vice President and Doug Wilson is the Treasure Elect. He feels this is a great board and this are looking to build educational opportunities through the MBAA. He encourages feedback and to let National know what we as member want.

He also announced the technical director Mark Sammartino will be stepping done after the current MBAA course is completed and they are looking to fill that spot.

Also announced was the forming of a new Carolina district that will soon be up and running.

<u>Scholarship Committee Update:</u> Brad Stevens was not present so Paul Popa gave the scholarship committee update. Paul read the deadlines for the scholarships and encouraged members to apply.

Packaging application due by Feb 1st Engineering by June 1st Brewing and Malting by Aug 1st

Technical Chair update: John Stewart

John mentioned he was moving to Vice President and a technical committee of Louwrens Wildschct and Alec Mull has been formed to line up speakers.

Old Business: No old business

New Business:

Electronic vote will be used for electing a new secretary and the winner will be announced at the winter conference.

Nominations for Secretary were called for. The following three people volunteered.

Tim Gossack, Heinz Ulrich, Patrick Ahrens

It was announced that nominations would be accepted for 1 week for the secretary postion and to email Debbie Smith if someone wanted to add their name to the vote.

Meeting was adjourned at 11:50 AM

Upcoming Meetings:

Winter Conference 2017 January Exact date TBD

MBAA District Michigan Spring Meeting 2017 March 23rd, location TBD

MBAA National Meeting Oct. 12-14th Atlanta, Georgia

Members in Attendance:

John Stewart	Dan Buonodond	Daniel Rogers
Colt Dykstra	Sonia Buonodond	Marty Rarnicki
Trevor Klimek	Debbie Smith	Richard Scott
Chris O'Neil	Doug Wilson	Santiago Gomez
Sean Brennan	Edward Stencel	Patrick Kocz
Dave Sippard	Bruce Patrica	Mirce Moran
J. Green	Mike Navis	Jason Warren
Jason Heystek	Kris Klamer	Brian Lindberg
Annie Lucma	Lora Tebbetts	David Thurston
Cody Green	Ed Ruble	Meg Pollard
Len Schaedlink	Brian Kuzynski	Jeff Carter
Aaron Onweller	Nathan Schroeder	David Zupanta
Branden Roche	Brian Roetein	Kevin Mclinn
Fred Schumacher	Todd Parker	Adam Glenn
Fred Scheer	Jeff Williams	Jessica Liliu
Nikolaus Schultz	Tom Payne	Tim Lozen
Matt Cinati	Konrad Conner	Kimberly Schneider
Ben Gould	Kirk Biclskis	Rob Henry
Ryan Leidal	Robert Orler	Daniel Meldow
Alexis Light	Patrick Ahrens	Andrew Young
Nicholas Robert Cornell	Josh Stewart	Todd Seabert
Jeff Russell	Cody Dykstra	Joe Droste
Ed Huston	Robert Bayer	Sebastian Heneca Dewel

Chas Thompson	Rex Halfpenny
Wesley Noble	Tom Hudak
James Kendall	David M. Shaw
Joshua Benn	Dan Kiplunge
Amy Pradua-Wanjman	Bill Wamby
Ryan Shafer	John Hoekett
Diego Perez Pala	Michaez Casper
Jacob Cutler	Andrea Day
Lee Streeter	John Rodopoulos
Tim Pearcy	Nick Weredick
James Ferraro	Brandon MacClaren
Nick Macheirsa	Andrew Heyboer
John Haines	Chris Costic
Mackenzie Shitgen	Brian Confer
Adam LeClaire	Mark Schauer
Bell VanEenenaam	Matthew Konopalu
Sam Waite	Wade Begrow
Jeff Sheehann	Adam Stout
Heinz Ulrich <u>V</u>	Ryan K
Justin Stewart	Wala Mortic (Bocc's)
Fred Scheer	David Sipes
Casey Conley	Mike Moelaart
Lauwrens Wildschut	Todd Cadwee
Steven Holden	Ryan Hamilton
Kurt Lown	Nick Lavelle